Sharing folders in Google Drive can automate processes and save you time. It also facilitates collaboration and keeps files neatly organized.
When you share a folder with specific people the folder becomes available to be accessed by them. The content currently in the folder also inherits the permission settings of the parent folder one time. This means that permission settings of items inside the folder can be altered and will not automatically be set back to the settings of the folder. This is useful for sharing particular folders and/or files with specific member(s) of a team while keeping the files organized within a project/team folder.