Topics Map > Help Desk
Topics Map > Software > Google
Topics Map > How Do I... > Google
Google Drive FAQ - Sharing files to collaborate
How to share files for collaboration with Google Drive
Share and collaborate
Share files and set access levels and visibility
On the web:
To share a file you own or can edit:
Select or open the file or folder you want to share.
In the Share with others box:
Enter the email addresses or Google Groups you want to share with.
Choose what kind of access you want to grant:
- Can edit—Collaborators can add and edit content as well as add comments.
- Can comment (Select files only)—Collaborators can add comments, but not edit content.
- Can view—People can view the file, but not edit or add comments.
If you want to control how visible your files are to other people,
such as keeping them completely private or allowing anyone on the
web to see them, click Advanced > Change and choose an
option. Then click Done
Or click Done.
|Link sharing option||Definition||Sign-in to a Google Account required?|
|Specific people||You are the only person who can access the file or folder until you share it with specific people or groups||Yes (to edit or comment)|
|Anyone with the link||Anyone who is given the link to the file or folder can access it||No|
|Public on the web||Anyone can access the file or folder on the Internet through search results or the web address||No|
Levels of Access
|Can view||Can comment||Can edit||Is owner|
|View files and folders|
|Download or sync files to another device|
|Make a copy of files to save in Google Drive|
|Comment and suggest edits in files|
|Edit documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and drawings|
|Share or unshare files with others|
|Add or remove files from a folder|
|Upload and delete file versions|
|Delete files and folders|
|Transfer ownership of files and folders to others|